Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

About Virgin Media

Virgin Media, the biggest cable broadband provider was born after the merging of NTL, Telewest and Virgin. Where you do not get the cable network of Virgin, you can go for the ADSL option which generally lacks cost-effective features of cable services.

Virgin offers two ways to reduce the monthly cost - you can bundle its broadband package with Virgin mobile service or you can just go for bundled packages which combine two or more services.

 

Where do Virgin Media stand in our rating?

Our assessment of a provider/packages is based on various criteria like speed, reliability, customer support etc. The over-all rating of a provider or a package often helps you to pick the right package for you even if you are unsure of your priorities.

Speed
Reliability
Customer Support
Value for Money
Overall Rating
 

Comparison of Virgin Media Packages

  • Package
  • Type
  • Can be bundled?
  • Speed
  • Unlimited? [Usage]
  • Suitable For
  • Value For Money
          Light Average Heavy  
BB/Ph duals No 0Mb No      
Big Bundle triples No 0Mb No      
Full House bundle No 0Mb Yes      
Full House Movies bundle No 0Mb No      
Full House Sports Bundle No 12Mb No      
Fun Bundle No 0Mb No      
Mix Bundle No 0Mb No      
Player Bundle No 50Mb No      
VIP Bundle No 0Mb No      
Virgin Media 50Mb Broadband

No 50Mb Yes     Yes 
VIVID 200 solus No 0Mb No      
Click on the package name to read more information
Attractive features of Virgin Media packages

Things you need to consider before you take up Virgin Media packages

Virgin Media - Consumer Reviews

We have some reviews written by consumers for making your choice easy. You can also contribute a quick review that would definitely help others by visiting our Broadband Reviews page.

Reviewed by jack  on  2012-04-20
When I phone up for help and shoot questions, I always get quick and satisfactory replies. Technical queries are answered free.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Henry  on  2012-04-20
Good speed and no hassles. Network upgraded automatically. Will recommend to others.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Steven  on  2011-10-17
I am very happy with my new connection I have with Virgin Media. Good customer service is what has impressed me the most. Prompt answers and quick service has kept them a step ahead of others. The connection speed is also pretty good when compared with my previous provider.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Rhea M  on  2011-09-21
Good!!! Finally I found a good provider. I get the speed I pay for. In addition, it actually works! I wish I had found them earlier rather than going behind by the alternatives.Customer service wise, it is Excellent. I had issues and it was sorted out the very next day. Impressed!!
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Paul  on  2011-09-05
I was surprised to know that I am not just the only person who was angry with Virgin Media. There are lots in the list. My connection is down for months and no service at all in spite of calling them several times. But if you are one who has problems ..be careful will hardly find a person who speak proper English. The customer service is even worse. To sum up..a worst provider.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Jane  on  2011-08-16
I confirm my worse experience with Virgin Media. Initially hey were good.but recently they have come down on their speed and customer service. Last week I experienced the worst connectivity ever. The speed was considerably slow and many a times the connection was cut off. nearly 3 - 4 engineers came up to sort the issue, but in vain and I got a different answer from ever one regarding the drop in speed. They were good but not now.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Adriano  on  2011-08-03
Being the second largest ISP in the country, Virgin Media do have customers that are not really happy with them. But this is not the case with me and my family and a few of my friends who use Virgin Media connection. After being with them for more than 3 years, with no serious issues till now, I am a happy customer who will surely promote their name. Though this may not be the opinion of many, I understand that there are many who are not really satisfied with the provider. However, I am!!
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Sophie K  on  2011-07-13
Took over to Virgin Media a month back and now regrets over it. The speed is not at all satisfactory nor is their customer service. I shifted to Virgin thinking it would be better and their ads too were appealing. They have their positives, but on the whole...not satisfactory.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Dave L  on  2011-07-01
Do Virgin Media really care about their customers??? I don’t think so. They always promise to fix any problem at the earliest, but they never do. Their technical support team have little knowledge about the technicalities. They even charged me high in spite of the fact that due to the issues, I could not use my connection. A worst service provider.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Emma J  on  2011-06-26
One of the worst ISP’s is Virgin Media. I was tempted by their offers, advertised speed and rates. Please anyone don’t be tempted to fall in their trap. They have the worst customer service in this world along with an even worse speed and confusing website. They provide very poor speed and the connection breaks in between always. Very unreliable.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Meryl J  on  2011-06-17
As far as speed is concerned, there is none to top Virgin Media. Compared to the speed I had with my previous provide, this is simply great. I’m not sure about the quality of their customer care centre as I hardly had any problem.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Evan  on  2011-06-13
I have been using Virgin Media for pretty long time and I must say that I am a heavy user. Considering my usage, the speed that I get is great. I am very much impressed with the speed offered by Virgin Media. I use the XXL package and get 49 to 51 mbps speed. I have had issues when I called their call centre, but again which provider has a very good customer service centre. Though there are other providers that offer so much speed at a cheaper cost, the service and speed that I have received from Virgin Media is simply great.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Brian F  on  2011-06-10
I have been with Virgin Media for years and now I’m planning to change my provider. They had advantages and were good, but nowadays, the connection is very slow and terrible customer service. All they know now is to make excuses. Anyone please suggest an alternative good connection that has good speed, I dot ming paying more.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Marina  on  2011-06-03
I have never come across such a worst broadband provider. Their broadband connection is worse than a dial up connection. The dial up which I used before used to perform better. They have an even worse customer service centre in India. Not just me, all my friends using Virgin Media has the same opinion.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Annie T  on  2011-06-01
The connection is useless. No speed and hopeless customer service. During the initial few months, I was happy with a browsing speed of 1.5mb but, now it is only 28kbps, slower than a dial-up connection. Still they are charging me in the same rates. Now, 2 or 3 days ago started a new problem, nothing but unexpected connection failure. This will repeat at least 3 to 4 times per hour. Then, downloading problems, bad service supports, unfair charging, etc. Truly, Virgin Media is the awful one that I have ever used.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Aldrin M  on  2011-05-28
I have been with Virgin media, only for 3 months and I have learned a lot within this short period. Unfortunately, Virgin Media is delivering an awful performance that provokes the customer. The speed of the connection (what I’m receiving now) is too low while comparing with other providers in the same area. Even BE is providing 4.5MB here. When I left Sky and jointed with Virgin Media, I thought that I’m never going to change the provider once again but, it is the time to change my opinion.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Henry Luke  on  2011-05-24
I am using this for past 6 months and the initial two or three months were fast enough with a speed of 1.5mbps and then started the problems, mainly slow browsing speed and unexpected failure. Day by day it is going down. Now, even the Google home page gets loaded very slowly. I have sent a lot of complaint requests to the provider and they keep saying, “It is due to this and that and will be cleared within one week or two”. When I moved to Virgin Media by cutting my previous broadband connectivity, I thought it would be a healthy attempt to get fast internet connectivity and there are little hopes remaining.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Steve  on  2009-10-24
If you are having severe problems try telephoning 08009522283 this is the number for Virgin High level complaints which I got by asking the switchboard at London Office. If this does not work try sending an email to the C.O.E. at neil.birkett@virginmedia.co.uk. Keep it firm but polite and someone from High level complaints should get back to you. Try leaving a phone number as they prefer to talk 1-1. Good luck
Rating: Good

Reviewed by ZAFAR  on  2009-09-25
ITS ZAFAR FROM OLDHAM SAME GUY WHO PUT FEW WORDS YESTERDAY REGARDING VIRGIN BROAD BAND SERVICE ITS APPALLING AND DISGRACEFUL LIKE I SAID THEY DONT KNOW THEIR LEFT HAND FROM RIGHT ONE AND THEIR COWBOY SO CALLED TECHNICIAN AND I HAVE CANCELLED THEIR CONTRACT BECAUSE OF THEIR SO CALLE DADMINISTRATION THEY ALL SUCKS THAT INCLUDING THEIR ADVERTISEMENT THEY ARE ALL FALSE PROMISES AND NOW I KNOW WHAT THE SERVICE IS GOING TO BE LIKE THANX HEAVENS I DID NOT GET THEIR BROADBAND IT TOOK ME 25 MINUTES TO GET THRU AND COST ME £15POUND SO FAR JUST TO GET IN TOUCH WITH THEM WHO DOES THEY THINK THEY ARE DO THEY THINK MONEY GROWS ON TREES,I DIDNT THINK SO ANY WAY, THEIR SO CALLED TRAINED STAFF THEY DIDNT KNOW WHAT IS WHAT WHEN I GOT THRU EVENTUALLY THE STAFF TOLD ME AFTER A BRIEF CONVERSATION THAT I WAS NOT IN THE RIGHT DEPARTMENT SO IT PISSEED ME OFF AS IT WUD DO TO ANY ONE WITH RIGHT STATE OF MIND BUT I HAD THE PATIENCE WITH THEM TO PUT UP WITH THEIR NONSENSE IA AM GLAD THAT EVERYTHING IS OVER HOPE MR.BRONSON KNOWS ABOUT ALL THIS DEAL PACKAGE AND THEIR SERVICE OH1BOY WILL HE BE PLEASED I DIDNT THINK SO .ANT WAY I AM GLAD I DONT HAVE TO PUT UP WITH THEIR NONSENSE NO MORE AND I WUD SUGGEST THAT NO BODY SHUD HAVE TO GO THRU THE HELL I HAVE BEEN TO JUST GET STARTED I AM GLAD ITS OVER SO GUYS OUT THEIR BE CAREFUL ABOUT THEIR FALSE PROMISES AND BE VERY VARY ABOUT THEIR SWEET TALK OVER THE PHONE WHICH WONT SURPRISE ME NO MORE . GUD LUCK TO THOSE WHO STILL WANT TO GO AHEAD WITH VIRGIN MEDIA.AS I WUD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANY BODY AND ALL THE BEST I WUD PERSONALLY POST TO MR.BRONSAN BUT LIKE I SAY ITS NEVER LATE IN MATTRE OF TIME WHEN HE FINDS OUT WHAT KIND OF SERVICE HIS COMPANY IS PROVIDING ANY WAY GUYS I AM OFF AND GUD LUCK WITH YOUR SEARCH .P.S.THEY EVEN SAID THEY CAN COME IN THE MONTH OF NOVEMBER AT THEIR EARLIST TO PICK UP THE EQUIPMENT CAN U BELIEVE THAT ALL THEM ROOTERS WIRELESS GEAR,AND FREEVIEW BOX AND THE OTHER STUFF ITS REALLY SHAME.AS LONG AS I AM NOT PART OF VIRGIN I AM HAPPY TAKE MY HARD EARNED MONEY SOME WHERE ELSE WHERE I WILL GET DECENT SERVICE AND APPRECIATED FOR JOINING THEM SO I AM OFF THANX WITH UR SEARCH HOPE SOMEONE WILL PASS ON THE MESSAGE TO THEIR HEIRARCHY.BYE GUYS.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by C.Bailes  on  2009-04-02
Dont be so harsh on virgin, nor so quick to judge. I rang them to complain that new customers get good deals while existing loyal customers pay through the nose. I told them I was thinking of moving to another provider because we needed the top broadband speed/width and Virgin was too expensive, and that I was sick of the fact it was only evening and weekend calls for free when I make most of mine through the day. The guy said did I mind waiting a few minutes while he spoke to a supervisor, and he then came back on and said for an extra £1.50 per month we could have Talk Unlimited AND upgrade to the really expensive top broadband. I immediately agreed, because the only other provider who offers that speed has a restriction on download per month and this is no good for my teenage son who shares software and stuff. We now enjoy a fantastic service, practically all my calls are free and the internet, which is used by up to 4 computers in the house at a time, is very efficient. Even if someone is downloading a large file or playing an online game it doesnt affect the other users in the house. My bills for a mediocre service used to be upto £70 per month, they are now always under £50 for a top notch service. The only issue I have is that after a certain hour at night they switch to the call centre abroad. They have very patronisingly given these poorly paid Indian workers English names. This is unacceptable. I firmly believe that if a company is based in the UK and all its customers in the UK then the call centre should be in the UK, it is wrong to exploit the fact that workers in India cost less. I have nothing against them using Indian workers as such, but if they are good enough to do the job that the workers here are doing, they are good enough to be paid the same, or the equivalent in terms of cost of living there.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Liam  on  2009-02-06
After nearly 10years with Blueyonder originally, I am leaving ASAP. I am on the 10Mb package, and in the evening ony get about 0.5Mb before limiting takes effect. After months of complaints, an engineer finally admitted it is due to the fact I am one of 250 customers using 1 access point of the network. They have no chance of offering anything like a reasonable service. Fundimentally it is a con and i feel cheated. I am off to ASDL, it will be worth paying the extra.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Singh  on  2008-11-26
The customer service is extrermely poor. The staff are rude and often things that are agreed over the phone are not honoured. They will then deny having had the conversation. I was a customer for 5 years with no problems but since Virgin took over I have had a number of problems, all dealt with poorly by the company. I have had to report the company to OFCOM and I am desperate to end the contract that I am trapped in. Avoid VM unless you are up for a fight.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Daniel  on  2008-09-09
I subscribed to Virgin Media XL broadband six months ago. I get speeds around 13Mbps on most occasions. Their DTV channels and the recent BBC iPlayer shows are extremely entertaining features. Reliable broadband service. Excellent customer support.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Bennet  on  2008-09-24
Virgin Media offers great value to your money with their range of broadband bundles. I took Medium broadband with Virgin Phone and I could save a lot of money. Planning to upgrade to Virgin Media XL package soon. They services are matchless.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Nickelson  on  2008-06-07
Excellent broadband service and friendly customer service. Speeds and reliability have been good till date. I have nothing much to complain about Virgin Media as the service has been better in recent times.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by William  on  2008-05-28
Technical support is worthless and speeds have slowed down recently. Their broadband service has disappointed me that I would switch to some ADSL provider when my contract is over.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Sean  on  2008-05-09
Speeds have improved a lot recently. I am happy with Virgin Media as they offer reliable connection speeds and excellent customer support. Their Half-price offer has saved my money too.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Kate  on  2008-05-02
I signed with Virgin Media L last year. Now, I get speeds up to 2.5 Mbps and unlimited download limits. Their phone and TV services are good and saved my money lot. I would recommend Virgin Media to anyone.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by JohnB  on  2008-04-26
Unreliable and frustrating to deal with. Virgin screwed up my internet and say I can't be re-connected for 2 weeks. A fried was out of action for nearly a month. Go with a BT-line ADSL provider if you can
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Jason Scott  on  2008-04-14
After a year with Virgin I needed to simply change the name on the bill...easy enough you might think. Five weeks later, after having my BT voice line cut off for 12 days, being sent a threatening debt collection agency letter for no reason and finally, today, having to take the morning off for an engineer who never arrived I've reached the end of my tether. I'm tired of being given empty promises of some - any - service. A complete shambles. Just a shame there's no 'zero-star' rating option here.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Richard  on  2008-04-11
Six months ago, I signed up with XL and it offers speeds close to 20 Mbps. Worth for your money
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Thurman  on  2008-04-06
Reliable connection is the mark of Virgin Media and they did not disappoint me. Awful speeds and excellent customer support. As I bundled my broadband with Virgin Phone, I could save my money too. If you are looking for good service, I won't hesitate to recommend Virgin Media.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Arthur Fox  on  2008-04-02
More reliable speeds than ADSL. I signed with broadband XL last year, and the speeds are amazing. I included Virgin Phone in my package and it saves money great deal.Nice TV entertainment package!
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Rick  on  2008-03-29
I signed up broadband and phone package from Virgin Media. Reliable speeds and the cost of phone package is competitive with other ISPs. I would like to include Virgin TV soon. Great package!
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Rhoni  on  2007-11-12
I went with Virgin due to a £10 per month promotion. I then introduced a friend and was to recieve £50 back. This was to be used to pay for the first 5 months usage. I have been disconnect 6 times in 4 months as they say I have not paid my bill but after calling them turn me back on. Then after 4 months they say they have no record of me introducing anyone and that i should quote the reference no given when I introduced a friend -trouble is they never gave me one. They are a waste of space when it comes to customer services and I feel they have used disgusting tactics to introduce people using deals that you cannot make the most of because they do not give you the correct information or even keep the information you give to them.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by K Hounslow  on  2007-10-30
If the option of no starts were available I would have chosen that. I have been a cutomer with Virgin (previously NT Hell) for many years because my landlord won't allow satellite dishes. Throughout that time the service has been dreadful. Failures in all the packages they provide me with (TV, broadband and phone) mean that if I were to report every fault I think I have to complain about once a month - it is so bad that I only actually phone when I have no service what so ever as I don't have the time or energy to waste spending an hour on the phone to them. I have finally reached the end after yet another day spent waiting for their engineer who didn't turn up and am taking all my business away! Why? They don't telphone back when they say they will, they don't turn up for appointments, and don't even phone to tell you that they aren't going to come. The management should be ashamed! I strongly urge you not to use this company for anything.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Steven Johnson  on  2007-08-20
I bet anyone who visits the web-site doesn't instantly know that Virgin Media have now introduced Traffic Management. This basically comes into force between Peak Time 4pm-12 midnight. Now depending which package you're on, if you go over a certain download limit, they will half your download & upload speed for 4 hours. Whilst I'm not against Traffic Management, I am against the pathetic limits they have set. I am on the 2mb service which if you download more than 350meg in the Peak Times gets reduced to 1mb. Come back Blueyonder!!
Rating: Average

Reviewed by bali  on  2007-08-08
i was happy with virgin having been with ntl for years. today i tried to connect a router to my new windows vista pc and couldn't get a connection. the reason is that virgin cannot enable routers for Windows vista - something that i only found out after a lengthy and expensive call to their tech line. And when i asked about how long it would take for them to sort this glitch out the reply was 'how long is a piece of string?'. Disgraceful and ridiculous especially as all new pc buyers are getting vista. Very unprofessional service and customer skills. i'm going elsewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by sj  on  2007-01-07
Virgin are cheap - that's the good news. The line goes down frequently and the customer service is appalling. I have been reporting the same problem for over a month now and to add insult to injury they won't open a support call from email they force you to phone a premium rate number. So all in all if you can live with intermittent connection you can have it for £9.99 per month including free evening and weekend calls - but beware the small print for day time and 0845/0870 numbers !
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by uzoma jemade  on  2006-11-25
I am here to explain to the review writers that write not only when you are totally not satisfied but also when you are pleased with your ISP. I had been with virgin.net broadband since April 05. I was in plan 2 which already is a good value for money and adding to the surprise I was upgraded to 6gb three months later. 99.99% of the time I am kept connected. The customer service is fantastic. At least they know what they are speaking about. So far they have done a great job. They are simply brilliant.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by SALIK  on  2006-11-22
There’s nothing good in virgin that you could ever speak about. I signed up with virgin because it looked like a good package with NO CONTRACT. The connection got disconnected often. Then talking about its speed, its at snail phase. The customer service is not too good either. Each time I call them, a different person attends me and I will have to say the whole problem again and they give me a different information. All which indicates that they are properly untrained. Being fed up with all this I wanted to cancel my connection and asked for a refund which they said there wont be any problem in getting that.(guess what) yes! they have no records of anyone saying so and at any cost, I am not going to get it back. Just stay away from them.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Michelle Hargreaves  on  2006-11-11
I have been with Virgin Broadband for a couple of years and have had no problems with it. The Virgin Broadband is ideal for surfers who are looking for a reasonably priced service provider as well as top-notch customer care and free online customer support. Their service has never let me down with any problems and that were raised so far were fixed in the shortest time possible. I have no plans to change my ISP now that I have found this one.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Robert Pearson  on  2006-10-19
The main reason I signed up with Virgin Broadband was the package looked good and the customer services are very helpful. The package had e-mail virus protection and anti-spam software to protect my system from dangerous e-mails services. As far as price is concerned, Virgin Broadband ISP comes in broadly in the middle of the pack. Their three broadband packages between 1 and 8 Mbps match the average prices in the marketplace. I can say in all honesty I am very, very happy with the service I receive from them.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Natalie  on  2007-10-21
Virgin offers cheap price service compared to their competitors. Free Weekend calls are really grateful to me. I like Virgin and I would recommend to anyone without any hesitation.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Lindsey Deacon  on  2007-10-10
I am very much pleased with the Virgin media service. Please go for this ISP and really a good value for the money. 100% brilliant service.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Richard Hart  on  2007-10-27
Pros: good customer service, technical assistance is also good. Cons: Managing and solving complaints takes a bit of a time. Though the customer service reps keep mailing you telling that your query is being solved, still it takes time to solve a complaint. So that's a bit annoying. Otherwise not much of a problem.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Sharon  on  2007-11-03
While taking the new connection its all fine. The representative comes home and acts as if he's going to help you throughout! But after the connection is taken it is all gone! They don't even bother to find a solution to your complaint as well! Anyway, I have fallen into that sales representative's flattery words and have agreed for a 12 months contract with this company! Now I can do nothing but to bear all these problems!
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Janin  on  2007-11-15
The speed is slow. The connection has to be reset quite often. Not my cup of tea, so changed the connection now to AOL.
Rating: Good

You may also be interested in: