BT Broadband Reviews

About BT Total

Where do BT Total stand in our rating?

Our assessment of a provider/packages is based on various criteria like speed, reliability, customer support etc. The over-all rating of a provider or a package often helps you to pick the right package for you even if you are unsure of your priorities.

Speed
Reliability
Customer Support
Value for Money
Overall Rating
 

Comparison of BT Total Packages

  • Package
  • Type
  • Can be bundled?
  • Speed
  • Unlimited? [Usage]
  • Suitable For
  • Value For Money
          Light Average Heavy  
15GB for £16 No 0Mb No      
15GB for £21 No 0Mb No      
3GB for £13 No 0Mb No      
3GB for £8 No 0Mb No      
4GB for £10 No 0Mb No      
4GB for £15 No 0Mb No      
BT-Broadband line No 17Mb No      
Click on the package name to read more information
Attractive features of BT Total Broadband packages

Things you need to consider before you take up BT Total Broadband

BT Total - Consumer Reviews

We have some reviews written by consumers for making your choice easy. You can also contribute a quick review that would definitely help others by visiting our Broadband Reviews page.

Reviewed by John  on  2014-03-31
The BT NetProtect Plus is absolutely useful to my pc . BT Home Hub 4 is superb...
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Williams  on  2012-04-12
BT has been prompt and the line speed mostly consistent. Better than my previous provider.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Henry  on  2012-04-12
The customer service from BT has been really good. Bandwidth speed has been good even during peak times. Great reliability and great service.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Stephan R  on  2011-09-05
BT has been good when compared to my previous provider. Speed is also good. So far I have experienced only good. Touchwood!! Hope they keep up with their quality
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Sandy  on  2011-08-22
With a lot of hope to get better service, I joined BT. But sorry..I dont have anything really very special to say about them. Will have to wait for too long to get to know more about Bt. But as of now...I am not really very happy. I ma just waiting for something good to happen.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Matt A  on  2011-08-08
BT, though being the biggest provider in the UK has a lot of drawbacks. The first one is their low performance call centre in India. It is a bit difficult to understand what they say. The second one as far as I am concerned is its bill..rather difficult to understand and confusing. I say, if these issues be sorted out, BT can reign.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Leo  on  2011-07-21
No words to explain about BT. Reliable, god customer service, affordable, and the most important consistent speed. Good job BT ..keep going the same. This is what makes you different from others.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Willy H  on  2011-07-06
I have been using BT for nearly 4 years. I am happy that they could maintain customer so long. The service that they provide is good and rarely did I face serious issues. Whenever there was an issue, it was sorted out quickly. A big applause for that, something that other providers lack's a good customer service!!
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Martin  on  2011-06-29
BT provides the best service. They are very reliable too. Though they are a bit expensive when compared to other providers, the money is worth the reliable service we get from them. The super fast speed is another factor that needs special mentioning. Till date I did not have any issues with BT and I am really that I made the right decision. With the amount paid, I am happy with the service as well as speed.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Jennie  on  2011-06-22
I totally agree with most of the people here. BT is doing a good job. Their speed as well as rates are good. Prompt answer for the complaints and good service has made them the rulers.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Maggie  on  2011-06-21
After using BT for nearly 4 years, I must say that they are one of the most reliable providers. The speed is good and rarely did I face issues with the connection I have. Though there were a couple of issues, they were sorted out quickly. I am really happy with the connection.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Alfred G  on  2011-06-17
BT is one among the leading ISP�s in the UK and I must say that they top the list in the speed they provide. Despite the fact that their customer service in India is horrible, they give proper information whenever a maintenance work is going on. On the whole, BT is good.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Jane  on  2011-06-07
I am happy with the speed and service I get with BT. Now I am getting 14 mbps and I’m going to upgrade it to 20 mbps. The customer service is as fast as their broadband. With the service that I’m getting now, I don’t think of changing my provider as I am very happy and impressed with the service I get. Thanks BT!!
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Jonty  on  2011-06-04
After using AOL for the past 12 years, I have shifted to BT recently. I must say that it is must better than AOL. The change over from AOL to BT was also done with out any trouble and all done by BT. The speed is pretty good and I am very happy with the service they provided. I am not sure of what happens in the future as I have read a lot of negative reviews on various websites about BT. Hope it continues as it is.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Steve W  on  2011-05-31
The connection is awful. When I changed from Orange to BT, I thought that it would be fine and provide valuable service. Initial few months with BT were pleasant and I thought I’m never going to change the connection. After 3 or 4 months, one day I lost my connection suddenly. I disconnected the internet and reconnected after a few minutes. It was ok. I thought it’s over but, it wasn’t. The next day, problem was terrible than the previous day. Connection and disconnection! When I dialled the customer care, I was told that it’s because of the problem on the line and will be cleared with in hours but, I had to wait for 3 days. I decided to change the connection, never again with BT.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Matt Andrews  on  2011-05-25
When I ordered for BT broadband, they gave me connection quickly and the offer was so fair. During initial periods, service was good but now it is going a little worse. Now I’m facing a big problem with the line, the speed of the connection is going down day by day. I have already made requests to the provider. They didn’t give any attention on my request. Continues calls found the way and I was told that somebody would come to the house to repair but I haven’t seen anyone. Can anybody give me a solution? Otherwise I will have to put an end to my connection.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by val shaw  on  2009-11-13
Unlimited Total Broadband service itself is ok and seems reliable, problem is, they charge much more than advertised, and you must pay by DD, so they can steal from your account directly - whatever and whenever they like. The advertising clearly states £18.59 a month for the first 3 months then £24.46 a month thereafter for unlimited broadband, if you sign up for 18 months contract, which I did. I have No other services, no phone or BT Vision, and my landline phone is on a separate bill. The £18.59 a month was completely ignored and my first bill was for over £100. Pay up, or else.. The advertising says clearly £24.46 a month. Some months have added up to over £100 a month. This month is nearly £27. BT convenientlydo not have an accounts department, so the overcharging can't be resolved, and they say they cannot and will not confirm the monthly payment amount stated on their advertising, of £24.46 in writing. As soon as my contract ends next year, I will cancel, but no doubt they will find a way to continue to take payments from me.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by cyberdoyle  on  2009-09-20
BT is delivering a substandard service through obsolete copper technology and holding back economic recovery in the UK by lack of investment in the infrastructure in order to pay fatcat wages to suits and dividends to shareholders. It should be nationalised and be a utility, because we need it in this day and age. Patching up the copper with public funding is not on. Time to lay fibre to the home. JfDI.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Ian  on  2009-02-17
THE WORST BROADBAND EVER!! Stupidly slow speeds even though I am only 1 mile from the exchange. The worst customer service you can possibly imagine and at an expensive price. BT dont care about their customers, just ripping you off, providing less than advertised services and tying you into long contracts to stop you from escaping. STAY WELL CLEAR!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Hana Richter  on  2009-02-02
Have been with BT after being previously disappointed by AOL. Even worked for BT and the quality of services was good, but then experienced it from the other side...They never managed to fix our online account and email, and we could never access it, although we were prompted to do so. They denied conversations have happened, never changed us to normal billing, so when the bill never arrived, we were disconnected, then charged excessively and treated badly. The staff either never kept notes or lied about them. The unlimited option meant that we had our speed capped every month without being informed. Finally, the staff was untrained, rude, and very far away, in an Indian callcentre, which offered no help whatsoever. Fortunately got our MAC code without problems and will be switching to a new LLU provider this month.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Jonathan  on  2009-01-12
Over priced, huge disconnection frees. Is £129 really justified for cancelling phone only! When asked to justify such a charge the nice Indian woman responded with we are not a charity. You are not kidding!!!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Bob  on  2008-11-03
Joined BT Total Broadband starter package in April - have had very limited connectivity, probably less than 10% on average. Frequently tried the helpdesk - with help managed to connect about 1 x in 3 attempts ... In desperation went back to Freeserve dial up last week - I was on line in 5 minutes and faster connectivity tham my broadband. Happy to revert back to dial up - I pay for what I use, I do not have to pay for a service that does not work. BT may be OK if you live in a town or city, but my line is the end of a pole a mile from a village, 5 miles from the nearest exchange and the service stinks... Had a flashing orange light on the BT Home Hub continually for the past week - no service at all - but no refund, and no help from BT... If I can find another provider who can guarantee connectivity, I will change my broadband and my phone...
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by mickdee  on  2008-09-26
Be aware that their option 3 unlimited broadband is actually nothing of the sort. My access was restricted because I apparently downloaded too much. When I commented on this I was advised to keep below about fifty Gigs a month, hardly unlimited.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Bubba  on  2008-09-13
When I ordered my BT Option 3 I was told that my line would support a minimum of 5.5meg. Two months down the line and I am lucky to get 1meg. I have been told by the tech guys that they do not know why the speed has dropped, they even admit that there must be a problem with the BT line. But to get an engineer to come out and fix the fault is like trying to get blood from a stone, you just get fobbed of and passed from one call center to another. I am now so fed up that i have gone to the top and made a formal complaint, it is only now that BT are half heartedly trying to sort things out. If anyone else is having problems with BT then I suggest they contact the CCEO and make a formal complaint, rather that throwing away good money for a service that does not deliver what it promises. The email address for the BT CCEO is, cceo@bt.com
Rating: Average

Reviewed by medusa  on  2008-07-30
what a waste of time, thay completely failed to give me any broadband service whatsoever, customer service is dire, all I got was voicemail messages in an unintelligible scottish accent. unbelieveably poor, not even worth one star.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Diane  on  2008-07-16
Only had this package 3 weeks and I am already without service due to a technical fault. Passed around the world call centres when you try to get help and told it may be back in 48 hrs or so. Speeds are as bad a dial up and totally unfit for purpose. Can not get out of contract so stuck with it! We have had to signed back up with our old provider so we are now having to pay two broadband fees but only getting the service from one..and it aint BT!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Diane  on  2008-07-16
Only had this package 3 weeks and I am already without service due to a technical fault. Passed around the world call centres when you try to get help and told it may be back in 48 hrs or so. Speeds are as bad a dial up and totally unfit for purpose. Can not get out of contract so stuck with it! We have had to signed back up with our old provider so we are now having to pay two broadband fees but only getting the service from one..and it aint BT!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Ricky  on  2008-05-23
Excellent service. I have been with BT for five years. Whenever I call their customer support, they have a professional team to answer all our queries. Home Hub is quite good.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Jenny  on  2008-05-13
I am not getting speeds that I would like to. BT broadband packages are expensive and their offerings are not as good as Be or O2. Only good thing about BT is their BT Vision. Home Hub does not work at times. Customer support is pathetic.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Neil  on  2008-05-06
BT Broadband is more reliable than other services. They are quite straight forward. BT Home Hub router is excellent and works well with me. BT Vision is another excellent feature. I would recommend BT to anyone.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Brett  on  2008-06-02
I signed with BT Option 2 last year. Initially, I was getting around 2 Mbps now I get not more than 3.5 Mbps. Customer support is lacking in professional quality. However, their BT Vision is enjoyable and informative.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by karen birch  on  2008-05-04
Absolute rubbish!!!!! The browser hangs with just about everything I try to do. I have tried helpdesk (no answer even after 25 mins waiting, tried everything online troubleshooter suggests (made no difference), tried to log on to online live help (closed), e-mailed them twice with complaints and still have to work with a crap browser (BTYahoo)which is costing more than my previous provider. Don't bother with this - crap service and crap customer care.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Beck  on  2008-04-10
I switched to BT from a small provider in my area hoping to get better service. BT broadband speeds are good but they are not as cheap as it sounds on their websites. BT Home Hub is excellent router that works fine with me. Customer service is awful, compared to it, the last provider was far better.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Sam  on  2008-04-07
I am happy that BT has made customer support calls free. Although I had to call them hardly a few times, I would detest spending money for customer calls. Why should we? This is a good step taken by BT. Sometimes the help desk would leave us waiting or their answers are not helpful at all.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Barbara  on  2008-03-24
I would recommend BT Total broadband for anyone looking for a great value broadband package. BT Home Hub wireless router and BT Vision entertainment are special features. Just dont miss
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Andy Smith  on  2008-01-20
Been with BT since they first started offering Broadband (512Kb (50kbps)), upgraded to the 8Mb service end of 2006, promised 6.5Mb but happy getting 2.5-3Mb (300-350kbps) up until mid 07. Broadband slowed down considerably from friday night to sunday night, down to around 20kbps, since then has gotten worse - now regularly slows to 50kbps or less during weekdays in evening. I blame the introduction of BT vision, as the on demand service sucks too much bandwidth causing the exchange to reduce the overall download limits of other users on that exchange in order to maintain responsiveness of the exchange itself & the overall poor quality of phonelines. (Notes: I do not have BT Vision & am 3.3Km from exchange "as the crow flys") I am now switching to Virgin Media 4Mb service for the same money £25, which I know is more reliable/stable. (Neighbour has it)
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Dalgleish  on  2007-12-19
If there was a minus zero rating i would have put it. I have never had such a bad service in all of my life. If there are any BT employees that know what they are doing then I would like to hear from them as over the last four months I have spent in total over 20 hours on the phone to them and when they've had enough of you explaining, they just cut you off...they still haven't sorted out my broadband/phone matters. DO NO TOUCH BT YOU WILL BE SORRY AND SUICIDAL!!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by stuart big  on  2008-02-21
I am with BT for the last two years. BT Home Hub is quite excellent and works fine. A bit disappointed that the help desk does not answer promptly. I also took BT vision, it is an excellent entertainment pack.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Khan  on  2008-03-29
First of all, BT services are not as bad as I thought. My BT home hub is working well and I quite enjoy surfing with it. Whether reliability or customer support, BT does not disappoint me so far. I also want to sign up for BT business service soon.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by G Whatley  on  0000-00-00
BT broadband packages are cost effective and their freebies and free 24/7 customer support make them great value packages. I signed up with Option 1 package last year and I plan to upgrade to Option 2, since I find their services are quite good.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by hopkin  on  2007-11-15
Poor broadband speeds,coupled with indifferent customer service.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by claire oliver  on  2007-09-07
absolute rubbish - i was with aol for 2 years with no problems whatsoever, moved house and thought try a cheaper (bt) provider for a change and new wireless hub!!! you get what you pay for, lots of wires (no wireless cards available - out of stock) i cannot even use the phone whilst online 24 phone calls later and an engineer came out only to tell me it must be my wiring but couldnt tell me how or where i would need to pay £100 plus for a different engineer to come, i have since requested installation from aol in the hope that i get back to a decent service.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Ruth McCabe  on  2007-09-04
I just want to echo everything said above...I'm so glad it's not just me having issues with BT! My experience: poor connection speeds (promised 6mb, usually 1.1mb), often no service at all, call centre in India, unhelpful staff both there and in British call centre, refusal to get me out of my contract despite lengthy history of problems.....AVOID AT ALL COSTS! I will never ever take a BT service again and have also cancelled my phone service with them in protest. My parent's neighbour, and ex-BT engineer, has told me that their outdated exchanges just cannot provide the level of service BT promise their customers. So there you go - that's from the horse's mouth!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Nigel Smith  on  2007-08-27
What does BT stand for ? British Telecom,Not anymore it appears like most big UK companys they have moved there call centres to India (Cheap Labour + Bigger profits + Poor customer service. BT Broandband is good when it works but when it doesn't it's awful. Us British are used to que's however at least understand us when we call your call centre.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by leon  on  2007-08-21
I have been with bt total broadband for nearly 12 months now and i have never been more disgusted in my life i upgraded my option two max in may that was three months ago my speed has'nt changed it is august now i have phoned them numours times now and every time i go through to some one in india they don't have a clue what you are saying to them they ask you the same things every time i have called them about thirty times and that is no agsaduration i'am at a dead end now i have tried to complain but you will never be able to because their is no numbers for it my head is that gumbled up with the way they work i am an expert they have been turning my interleave on and off (interleave protects your phone line and stops eny damage) and my ip profile keeps being changed (ip profile is what tells the internet who you are and gives you your speed at a set rate) in my case keeps changing and when you phone them and tell them to turn on the interleave it will turn on in 24 hours but dont be to happy because their management system will turn it back off and with ip profile forget it IF YOU ARE THINKING OF GOING WITH BT BROADBAND YOU ARE MAKING THE BIGEST MISTAKE OF YOUR LIFES RUBISH RUBISH RUBISH
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Joyce  on  2007-07-25
I have had BT Wireless Broadband for about 18 months now and everything went very well until about 3 weeks ago when my wireless connection dropped off. Since then I have been on to their HelpLine several times and they have phoned me back several times for up to 86 mins at a time. I am still no further forward with my problem which I suspect is my BT Router but they seem to go over the same ground each time they phone and do the same things which I know is not where the problem lies. It doesn't help that the Help Desk staff don't speak English as their first language either so communication is extremely difficult. I am appalled that I am paying BT for Broadband and yet not getting it without any sign of a resolution on the horizon. I can't even find a telephone number to complain about the service.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by paul mooney  on  2007-07-17
bt broadband customer service is totaly disgraceful-i had a faulty router which i complained about in nov, after being put from piller to post ,and speaking to over 100 diferent overseas people,explaining my problem over n over again i finaly got a new router 8 1/2mths later-i have been paying for services i have not been receiving and still waiting on my rebate- 9mths on!i also have been charged for over 100 phone calls i had 2 make to get the problem fixed!what a cheek!in the mean time i am hit with a bill going into £100's which ive 2 pay to or my phone line will be disconnected(costing me more in reconnection charges!)it is a disgrace!i wouldnt recoment bt to anyone coz if uve a problem u will find it very stressfull and time consuming trying to get it fixed!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Mellin  on  2007-05-18
I have been connected with BT broadband service for the last one year. Im very much satisfied with their services. The call centers are helpful and provides brilliant services. Norton security provides great security. Unlike others, the wireless routers provided by them are easy to install. Amazing speed upto 8mb. I can recommend this service to any one.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Catherine  on  2007-05-18
BT provides an engraving customer service. I have come across so many broadband service’s, but only satisfied with BT service. BT provides an outstanding performance. They allow convenient options to choose. I can store a lot in 2GB free online storage. Security services are reliable. Overall BT is an reliable broadband package.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Caroline  on  2007-03-01
My experience of BT yahoo was fine until I wanted to move house. There isn't room in this box for me to rant about all the hassle I had so I'll summarise. If you want to speak to people in this country who understand what you say and you understand what they say, and you want things done when they say they will be done, and you don't want to pay over and over for packages you have cancelled, don't use bt yahoo.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Sue Ball  on  2007-01-23
Whilst it was working the Bt broadband was reasonably fast and efficient. I chose Bt broadband because I wanted to be assured of a good level of service. However when my broadband stopped working I spent nine days being shunted between BT cUstomer relations, BT technical help, BT Broadband wholesale and Bt line rental, with each saying the other was responsible for the fault. Now it has been fixed each department is blaming the others for the fault and saying I must apply to someone else for compensation.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Anderson Williams  on  2007-01-12
I have been using the broadband 3 option for 2 years. 250 inclusive wifi minutes and free wireless hub enabled me to access the connection easily. Their download option of 8 Mbs is sufficient to store large files also. Their customer service should be little patient to hear customer complaints. There has been only 72 hour of downtime in the last 3 years.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Julie Thompson  on  2007-01-11
It is simply exciting to me as BT Total broad band offers the option of creating ones own radiostation and webspace. This has lured me to get packages from them. Free BT packages are helpful as there is 2 GB storage with Digital Vault option.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Morhinio  on  2006-11-25
I was with the AOL ISP. Being very much unsatisfied with its performance I switched on to BT. I feel its performance much better than that of AOL. It is a broadband service without any hefty up front fees and is within budget. The speed is also much better. I would recommend BT for those who are seeking for an ISP with best quality and at a cheaper rate.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Crow  on  2006-11-17
I have never come across such a worst broadband service. The customer service that they provide us with is ridiculous. They were unable to sort out the connection problems for more than 3 months. When a complaint is made, it is escalated numerous times but no one seems to be really interested in solving the problem. If u ever have a plan of committing a biggest mistake in selecting an ISP then go for BT.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Charlene  on  2006-11-14
I feel that the service provided by BT is quite convincing. The service is quick and I have had no problems of any disconnections so far. Its performance has been very satisfactory. The BT option 1 which offers a speed of 8bps at the cost of £9.95 is very economical. The download speed is not good.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by John  on  2006-11-13
Despite numerous competitors, BT still stands head and shoulders above the rest with customer service. I have been away from BT for a few years and just got back with them. They are have simply improved their level of service and the offerings in leaps and bounds.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Christy Oakes  on  2006-11-01
I was looking for a good broadband service with high quality and with in the budget. After going around for a ride, I found BT more convenient than other ISP providers. Their 8 Mb broadband download speeds and free calls combine to give real value for money. When I ordered for a BT Broadband connection, there was no need for a new line or a new phone number, since I already had a BT phone line. I was surprised with their range of multiple options at much cheaper cost in the market. I would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Daniel Jordan  on  2006-10-15
I have been using BT broadband for 3 years and I find it affordable and reliable. They are the providers of the latest broadband packages combined with VOIP. I am able to save more by their offers that includes free internet voice calls, video calls and a suite of security software. Their latest BT Home pub supports BT's all range of services and connects wirelessly to PCs and other broadband devices. So far, I have had no major problems and their prompt customer service relieved me out of small technical difficulties that occurred rarely. I feel, I have made the right choice!
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by shanon  on  2007-11-20
Amongst all the broadband suppliers I found that BT has the best customer service and provides more convenient offers and schemes to the customers. I love BT Total and I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by james paul  on  2007-11-14
I just waded around to get the Broadband service that suits my budget. After a long search I found that BT Total would be my choice. I would recommend the BT for those who are seeking cheaper rate ISP with best quality.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by George  on  2007-11-03
I have not had much problems with BT. I have been using it for about 6 months now and am happy with it. I use my internet to download games, check my mails etc. so not much problem so far.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Sebastene  on  2007-10-23
Pros: Good connectivity when there is a connection Cons: connectivity is worse! Hardly does it get connected! Very poor connectivity
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Joshop  on  2007-10-12
Customer service bad. They promise to give a call back and never do! Once I had a problem with my internet connection and asked someone to come home to fix it and no one turned up! Other things are fine, except for customer service.
Rating: Average

You may also be interested in: