AOL Broadband Reviews

About AOL Broadband

AOL UK, one of the largest ISP in the UK is owned by the Carphone Warehouse. They deliver their services using their own LLU network or BT lines. No need to say, if you are on their LLU lines, you get cheaper broadband deals than when you are on BT lines.

In recent years, the customer support of AOL shows marked improvement as we know from our members’ reviews. Adding to it is the launch of wireless based products with a special offer of laptop with AOL wireless plus deal.

Where do AOL Broadband stand in our rating?

Our assessment of a provider/packages is based on various criteria like speed, reliability, customer support etc. The over-all rating of a provider or a package often helps you to pick the right package for you even if you are unsure of your priorities.

Speed
Reliability
Customer Support
Value for Money
Overall Rating
 

Comparison of AOL Broadband Packages

  • Package
  • Type
  • Can be bundled?
  • Speed
  • Unlimited? [Usage]
  • Suitable For
  • Value For Money
          Light Average Heavy  
Click on the package name to read more information
Attractive features of AOL Broadband packages

Things you need to consider before you take up AOL package

AOL Broadband - Consumer Reviews

We have some reviews written by consumers for making your choice easy. You can also contribute a quick review that would definitely help others by visiting our Broadband Reviews page.

Reviewed by Kristina  on  2012-04-20
Totally dissatisfied with AOL. Initial set-up with free gift were great. That's all. Speed drops very often. Calls to customer service are waste of time as both Irish and some overseas call centres couldn't help. Waiting to end this expensive 18 month contract. Avoid! Avoid!
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Joe  on  2012-04-20
Good customer service. Contacted them twice with technical queries which they replied. Found them efficient and knowledgeable. Been 5 years now and no complaints. Will surely recommend.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by paul  on  2011-10-31
do not answer telephone calls at all
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Paxy  on  2011-10-28
OMG...what a horrible connection. Poor service and speed. Friends pls stay awat from AOL. I have never faced such a worse speed. Very Poor!!!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Lewis K  on  2011-09-23
Slow download speed, slow connection speed and high cost makes AOL one among the worst service providers. Their customer service section is even worse. Frequent disconnection is another issue I face. Total disgrace...waiting for my contract period o get over to migrate to another provider. Someone suggest the best please...
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Ancy  on  2011-09-14
I have been with AOL for 3 years now and I dont have any regrets or complaints.Good connection speeds and unlimited download limits. I am more than happy with AOL. Keep up with the good work AOL!!
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Ria  on  2011-08-16
On the whole a good provider and connectivity options supported. But recently I too have been facing problems with their speed. Unfortunately, I have been speaking to their customer service person in India who hardly understand my problems. Hope they sort out their customer issues at the earliest.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Rob  on  2011-08-04
In simple words I will describe AOL as 'Horrible'. I dont understand what these guys are up to. Poor customer service, and frequent disconnections has made me really go crazy. I am planning to change my provider. Please can anyone suggest which is the best.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Ben  on  2011-07-15
AOL tariff is high when compared to other provides in the area. The speed in not good and they have an even worse customer service. It is difficult to understand as well as make understand their customer service person in their call centre in India.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Marianna D  on  2011-07-05
I recently gave up my AOL broadband due to the frequent disconnections and poor customer service. They have grown worse in the last year. Wonder where on earth their call centre is with people having little knowledge over the language. It is very difficult to understand what they speak and nor do they understand you.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Johanna  on  2011-06-28
I have been using AOL for pretty long time and is satisfied with the service I get. They are reliable. They have been good at sorting out the issues that I have faced. With an excellent support team, they have made it good. Anyway, it is much better than the other providers that I have used before.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Janice  on  2011-06-17
A worse connection, even poor speed and what’s more, horrifying customer service. AOL is expensive and unreliable. Their customer service people do not want to help their customers either. Have never come across something really worse! I’m planning to change provider.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Ben  on  2011-06-10
I have been using AOL for many years now and I started facing problems in the last 3 years only. But the last year was really worse. The speed has come down literally. It takes many minutes even for a basic page to get loaded. They even have a worse customer care in India and Ireland. They don’t keep up to their promises and always come up with ridiculous excuses!!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Aldrin  on  2011-06-06
Please avoid AOL. Total waste of time as well as money! You will never get the promised speed. They even charge you very high. I have never come across such an unreliable service provider. They haven an Indian based customer service centre I could hardly understand what they were speaking out.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Adina M  on  2011-06-02
After using AOL for the past 8 years, I must say that ‘I was happy’ than say ‘I am happy’. They used to give pretty good speed as well as customer support. But, in the near past, for almost 8 month, I am facing problems. The connection gets disconnected frequently while using and this is in turn affecting my work as I work on the internet. The customer support is not good as it was before.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Jessica M  on  2011-05-27
I was with AOL for the past 2 years, awful performance. File downloading speed of the connection was too slow and couldn’t browse in-between downloading. Unfortunately, if you dial the customer care, the answering-machine will talk to you. No better service assistance and no respond to requests. Finally, I gave-up. Two months ago, got my new connection with another provider. Now I’m enjoying good downloading speeds and charges are also fair. Far better than AOL!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Day  on  2009-11-16
Do u a zero star. Cos that is wat aol service is. I had my worst nightmare trying 2 disconnect. And now they r charging for a security suite 6mth later. Customer service is rubbish. Don't connect.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by br lawrie  on  2009-05-12
Expensive - frequently switched off in mid-activity - SLOW+++++ - full of garbage - does not work at well with Vista [another shambles] - tech support is zero... start at beginning of script... need tech level 2 ...start all over..... still no better... its all your machine/BT line etc.. not AOL being totally USELESS ... where does one stop before total frustration and madness set in?.... this lot are more incompetent and on the make than Westminster and Euro MPs
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by eric lumsden  on  2009-04-03
I have been with AOL since 2004. It USED to be excellent, but recently I have spent more time on repairs, than online. Of 2 Help numbers, one said we dont do Help and the second, (BT said) we dont connect this number to AOL?
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by mark  on  2009-03-19
Very poor, started out very good but speeds have dropped considerably over the past few months and connections are lost. AOL refuse to admit it is them so I am now looking to switch and take AOL to ISPA complaints
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Dave  on  2009-01-31
I have been with AOL for 10 or more years now, but AOL has really gone to the Dogs. Expensive, unreliable and bloated. Do not waste your time or money...
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Barry  on  2009-01-17
Broadband service OK. Customer service is poor, had to make repeated calls to try to resolve a technical problem. Then promised a discount that never materialised.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Carley  on  2008-11-20
Very Poor customer service. Technical ability not much better. Terminating contract a complete nightmare! PLEASE go somewhere else!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by D John  on  2008-11-02
Customer service very poor, as if reading a script, same remedy for all faults
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Taylor Nichols  on  2008-09-24
Zero star for performance, speeds, customer service, cost and obtrusive software. One star for the nice Joanna Lumley "welcome to aol" greeting!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Tim  on  2008-09-27
I have been with AOL broadband for more than three years. Their service is slowly deteriorating and I faced disconnection problems in the last six months. Speeds have dwindled too.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Dorothy  on  2008-09-17
I get slow speeds at times. Although I have signed up for their 8Mb broadband, I get around 2.4Mb on most occasions. I do not think that their customer service is bad. I recently took AOL Talk Unlimited call plan to save my money. Over-all, AOL service is good.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Maggie  on  2008-08-20
It is a pity there is not an option for a 0 star rating, because this dreadful company does not deserve 1 star. I have frequent connection problems, and it usually takes quite a few calls to the totally and utterly useless Indian call centre before it gets sorted out. If they cannot solve the problem they hang up on you. DO NOT JOIN AOHELL... YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by JoT  on  2008-08-15
Poor would be high praise. I would not STAR this bunch of incompetants. Having stuck it out with the company for 10 years I know that customer service is a contradiction in terms. Service is appalling and they do not care about the paying customer. Run away or, better still, stay away. Do NOT get sucked in by their advertising. They give vultures a bad name.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by insider  on  2008-08-12
Customer service rubbish!...do not know how to solve problems, put you on hold for ages and then just hang up on you.... THINK LONG AND HARD
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by IAN SWAINE  on  2008-08-02
AOL IS APPALING SLOW INTERNET SLOW STAFF ,NOT VERY GOOD EXPENSIVE AND VERY POOR JUST MERGED WITH CAR PHONE WHARE HOUSE HAVE BEEN WITH THEM 4 YEARS TIME TO MOVE THINK BEFORE GOING WITH THIS SERVICE PROVIDER
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Mary Cummins  on  2008-07-11
Rated by no review completed on AOL.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Owen  on  2008-05-28
Speeds are reliable. I signed 18 month contract with AOL last year. Their wireless support is quite good. But their customer support is really in bad shape.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Forester  on  2008-05-20
I have been a customer of AOL for the last three years. The packages are expensive and their customer support is below standard. Their contracts are unusually long, so i am just tied in up 24 month contract. I get speeds which is just one-fifths of what they advertise.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Eddy  on  2008-05-14
AOL customer service is appalling. They don't understand my problems. Speeds are pathetic and problems occur frequently. When I contact them on their expensive customer support lines, I was hanged up for more than 15 minutes.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by smith  on  2008-05-08
I signed up with AOL Wireless Plus and Unlimited call plan. Excellent money value and also free laptop. Their internet security with parental controls is quite unparallel.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Richard  on  2008-05-03
AOL has always been good and I am satisfied with it. Their Live help is quite useful and does not cost anything. However, their customer support is a bit expensive.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by carl  on  2008-04-11
After one of my friends suggested, I signed up with AOL recently. They advertise it gives up to 8 Mbps download speed, but I do not get even half of that. However, their wireless router is good and since my premises are within the LLU network of AOL, I should say the monthly price is cheaper than the previous package. Honestly speaking, I am disappointed with the service
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Jessie  on  2008-04-08
Customer support is not bad. But speeds are unreliable at times. So far, I did not have any network problem so I am happy with AOL.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Steve  on  2008-03-20
AOL Wireless caters all my needs.Competitive price and excellent service. With the wireless router, I could work from anywhere in my home or office
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Keith  on  2008-03-17
I needed to find a cheaper broadband provider than my present one. I was going to migrate to AOL Broadband who advertise an offer of £9.99 for the first 6 months rising to £14.99 after. However, when I tried to sign I was shocked to find that I would have to pay £19.99 per month. So their offers aren't offers at all, just cons. Needless to say I've gone for my second choice, whose charges are as advertised.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by steve gill  on  2008-04-28
I signed up with AOL broadband last year. Reliable connection and excellent wireless support. Prices are cheaper and I could see significant reduction in the annual cost.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by othello  on  2008-08-01
The recent 'Wireless Flexi' could be better option for me though I am currently with the same provider and my contract is to expire in the next two months. AOL wireless support is extremely good. I had no problem whatsoever during the last two years. Though I suggest its long terms contracts are fine for saving for money, I plan to swich to Flexi as I dont spend so much time online.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by RACHEL DOUGLAS  on  2007-10-19
First 3 months(March - June) good, after that down hill all the way only got 2 weeks service out of 4 weeks for next 3 months(July-Sept) then nothing for the next month Sept 17th to date 19th October2007 .Very disappointed, never any help available from the technical support team HELP HELP PLEASE. I am desperate for HELP.
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by j lawson  on  2007-09-13
have been with aol broadband from 2002 have had excellent service and good back up/had no problem good product range, first class.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by wyn  on  2007-09-02
if you want the best get aol.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by martin  on  2007-09-02
Ive been with AOL for about 10 years now and it time to move they have gone down hill now with lower speeds form 5pm to 12 am for all users i have upto 8mb speed was geting 3.5mb speeds but now i can only just get 1.5mb if im lucky. i have liked the service i had untill car phone warehouse took over now i cant say its worth the money
Rating: Poor

Reviewed by Joshen  on  2007-05-18
I have been with AOL for past 4 years plus, and I always enjoy the greatest speed. I continue my contract with aol for its multiple connection options and reasonable prices. They provide unlimited usage; I have been recently connected with platinum package which provides speed upto 8mbps. I enjoy unlimited music and movie downloads through this package. They are given a special offer of free wireless router. Highly reliable site and I recommend this site to everyone.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Sany rose  on  2007-05-18
I’m one of the excited customer of AOL broadband. I have been very much impressed with their service. I have also recommended this site to all my friends. I have connected with silver broadband packages, which provides unlimited downloads. Customer services are gentle and pleasing. They are providing full support and safety.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Peter Morrison  on  2007-01-11
I have switched over to AOL broad band and their platinum package is enough to handle my workload. Music downloads and movie downloads are able to provide some entertainment. Free wireless router supplied makes it simple to operate. Parental control makes it safe as our children are within our control when accessing websites.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Ingrid Coste  on  2007-01-11
I have been using AOL broadband silver package for the past one year. Its speed of 1 Mb is quite useful for me. Free McAfee spyware and Firewall plus given makes it safe and secure. Customer support extended is excellent. Unlimited downloads enable me to work faster in an efficient way.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by lola  on  2006-11-22
The material offered in the site is good. But the frequent disconnections is turning out to be a nightmare to me. When I reported this to the customer care , there was mere talking and nothing was done in action. The customer support to this service seems to be very unsatisfactory.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Lez Pearson  on  2006-11-17
I have never felt so comfortable with any other broadband services. The latest platinum package offering a speed of 8mbps is much faster. The speed can be clearly felt. With its unlimited space it is the ideal choice for music and movie lovers like me. The latest updates on sports and entertainment are catchy.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Steve Marsh  on  2006-11-14
I am using AOL broadband for the past 2 years. So far its performance has been satisfactory. They are much affordable when compared to the other providers. The usage is very effective. Kids control virus scan and firewall are added advantage to this service provider. But now a day it is slower especially when it comes to searching.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Adiebear  on  2006-11-01
I have been using AOL for the past two years and their service is great. I am amazed with their speed updates which goes up to 8 mbps for platinum package users. When my cable modem developed a fault, it was engineered within a day's time without any question. AOL is extremely reliable without any significant problems to complain.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by Jim Bailey  on  2006-10-18
I am comfortable with AOL broadband suppliers for the past 5 years. I am surprised with people complaining around about connection problems. I recommend them not to use the AOL software, if it creates problems and use the modem settings to connect the internet with your user name and password. I have no problem with the connectivity; it is always connected even if my PC is on for several days. AOL offers excellent customer service and fast and reliable connection that never seems to go down. I am happy with the performance of AOL.
Rating: Excellent

Reviewed by Jack Andrews  on  2006-10-14
Possibly the most convenient broadband connections I have ever experienced. AOL offers the speediest service throughout, even at the peak usage periods. Their package of unlimited usage allows for easy downloads of my favourite movies and music. AOL broadband provides multiple connection options at reasonable prices. No doubt, you can experience the value for money.
Rating: Outstanding

Reviewed by chappel  on  2007-11-20
I have been using this AOL since March 07 and I was amazed with its great speed. Connection failure happens sometimes not very often. Call centre is poor and facing the downhill without any doubt. Really dreadful customer service. Sorry AOL!
Rating: Average

Reviewed by kym  on  2007-10-20
Hi, I am using this AOL broadband for a year and till date no problem with the service. I am very much pleased with its performance. But the customer service is awful and very bad compared to other broadband suppliers and sure that it will let down the company soon. But the internet protections are very good compared to other suppliers.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Thomas  on  2007-11-12
I have been using this connection for the past 10 months. The speed is ok and the downloading limit is also fine. But the customer service is absolutely a failure. Perhaps AOL should give their representatives a bit more of courtesy and behaviour lessons. Once when there was something wrong with the internet connectivity, I contacted their customer service and was shocked to see their behaviour. I asked them to send someone home to help me with the connection, and I got my helper after full 5 days! Heights of indecency!
Rating: Average

Reviewed by johnson  on  2007-10-05
AOL broadband means absolute absurdity to me! They charge for all that you have never used at all! I was in the monthly rental scheme of theirs and once I reach the limit that they have specified, the speed comes down to such an extent that its simply useless to use an internet connection! I then changed my internet connection to Orange and now it is hundred times better! The customer service of AOL is also very bad, as the representatives do not even bother to help us with our queries! I still get letters and phone calls from AOL's agency stating that I owe them money! I am not even gona bother, as I was being charged unnecessary. Very bad service.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by james  on  2007-10-07
I have always liked AOL. I have been using their broadband service for the past 2 years and so far have had no problems.
Rating: Good

Reviewed by Joshen  on  2007-04-12
I have been with AOL for past 4 years plus, and I always enjoy the greatest speed. I continue my contract with aol for its multiple connection options and reasonable prices. They provide unlimited usage; I have been recently connected with platinum package which provides speed upto 8mbps. I enjoy unlimited music and movie downloads through this package. They are given a special offer of free wireless router. Highly reliable site and I recommend this site to everyone.
Rating: Average

Reviewed by Sany rose  on  2007-05-18
I'm one of the excited customers of AOL broadband. I have been very much impressed with their service. I have also recommended AOL to all my friends. Presently, I am with silver broadband package, which provides unlimited downloads. Customer services are gentle and pleasing. They are providing full support and safety.
Rating: Good

You may also be interested in: